Sunday Check-In #1: Calm Before the Storm

“There is peace even in the storm.” – Vincent van Gogh, The Letters of Vincent van Gogh

The amount of things that have to happen before the semester starts can be crushing. There are final grades to wrap up, syllabi to revise, lesson plans to make, online courses to polish. Sometimes the schedule changes at the last minute. Sometimes everything seems ready until it suddenly isn’t.

I spent the last couple of days checking things off my to-do list. I revamped my Canvas courses. I spent an hour today peeling off the old numbers on my desks and re-writing and re-taping a number to each desk to help with classroom organization. I did a lot of things for my job, and some of those things came at the expense of meeting certain goals.

But knowing that, even knowing how crazy the next few weeks will be as the semester gets into full swing, there is peace in the storm. Teaching is hard, but I love every second of it.

Let’s get on to the check-in, shall we?


Books Read:  0

Currently Reading:  The Wrong Side of Goodbye by Michael Connelly

Unread Comic Count:  2595 (+6)

Currently Reading:  Champions #9 by Mark Waid, Humberto Ramos, Victor Olazaba, Edgar Delgado, and Clayton Cowles

Debt Paid Off:  $97.16 (4.4% toward goal)

Weight: +1.4 lb. (expected, I was lower than I expected when I started)

Not a great start, but I think by tracking the numbers, posting them publicly, and making sure that I have numbers that I can actually track and see on a graph, I’m going to make the progress that I want to make.

Here’s to next week, and the start of a new semester!

Leave a comment