Sunday Check-In #4: Falling Flat On Your Face

My goals fell off a cliff this past week.

I feel like these blog posts are often a checklist of all of the things that I haven’t done yet, but I’m going to keep at them because I feel like honest reflection is the only way that any of us ever get any better at all of the things that we do each day.

I didn’t finish my NYC Midnight story. I was assigned to write a thriller about a school counselor with weight gain as a theme. I couldn’t piece it together. I wrote most of a story that, after reading the genre definitions, I realized was 100% suspense rather than thriller. In the end, I decided to cut my losses and get ready for the next challenge instead.

I burned some time I shouldn’t have this weekend, but it was fun and led to reconnecting with a good friend, so I can’t say it was truly time wasted. I also spent more at the grocery than I should have, didn’t go to the gym, etc.

I could focus on all of that, but in the end it’s all about what I can control moving forward. One thing I’ve done almost daily is continue reading the Stoics and journaling in their fashion. So while I know I’m not living up to the standards I want to reach, I also know that the only one with the power to change that is me.

“Waste no more time arguing what a good man should be. Be one.” Marcus Aurelius said that, and I’d like to paraphrase. Waste no more time arguing what a better man should be.

Time to be one. On to the check-in.


Books Read:  Still 3.

Currently Reading:  I’m halfway through Silvera’s Infinity Son, and I’m just not sure that I’m feeling it. It’s lightning-paced, which is jarring, and the character changes make me keep putting my Kindle down. I picked The Long and Faraway Gone back up today, though, and I think I may end up finishing it first. I’m also a little over halfway through the audiobook of Malcolm Gladwell’s Talking to Strangers, which is fascinating and timely.

Unread Comic Count:  2563 (-4) This is actually great news! My comic box from the past month came in, and by my count that added at least 20 comics to the count, but I was still able to lower the net.

Currently Reading:  Valkyrie: Jane Foster. What a gorgeous comic book. CAFU is absolutely killing it here. Jason Aaron and Al Ewing are telling an intriguing story, but the art is what sells it for me.

Debt Paid Off:  $20. If I can do even $10 a week, that’s all going to add up over time, especially if I can throw more at it at random.

Weight:  -0.6 lb. Still haven’t been going to the gym, so this stagnation is exactly what I deserve. No complaints about essentially maintaining weight here.

Clearly a long way to go, especially with some of my other goals not touched yet, but we will approach them, and soon. See you next week!

Leave a comment