Sunday Check-In #6: Making It Happen

I made it to the gym on Saturday! I plan on going again tonight as soon as I wrap up some chores and grading. It will mean no video games tonight, and probably no TV. And honestly, that’s okay. I’m trying to better myself here, and both of those things don’t really fit the bill. Controlling the things that I can control has been heavy on my mind with the continuous Stoic reading I’ve been doing in the morning and at night. My goals fall under that category. You can’t wait for things to happen. If it’s in your power, you need to make them happen.

Last week was pretty good on the goal front. I’ve been concerned that I might become a shut-in after everything wrapped up relationship-wise, but I’ll be seeing Ordinary People on Saturday night and I also signed up to volunteer with Reverb at the Guster concert in Bloomington. I made the waitlist, but it still means potentially putting myself out there.

I’m sure that more happened, but I need to keep moving on so that I can get my grading and workout in. On to the check-in!


Books Read: 4. I jumped back into the audiobook of Stephen King’s The Institute and knocked about half of it out last week. Reading time has mostly been dedicated to comics lately, but I’m sure I’ll oscillate back toward prose again.

Unread Comics:  2530 (-12). Slow going, but no complaints. Progress is progress.

Debt Paid Off:  Technically $0, but I have about $60 in payments that haven’t posted yet. You’ll see that here next week.

Weight: -2.9 lb. I think this is normal oscillation. We’ll see what happens when the gym stuff continues.

Gym Days Last Week:  1! Which is more than zero! Welcome to the category list, gym days.

It’s shorter than normal, which is what I get for writing this on Monday and back-dating it. See you next week!

Leave a comment